Greetings! I'm your personal librarian for MCST History of Media! I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
See you next week in class or in the library even sooner!
Jenny Castel | email@example.com | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Academic Success Center at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
Looking for MS Office Suite or Microsoft Word? Click here to download it for free!
Let's explore these primary resources!
Each group will be assigned one database to explore.
Each group will share their findings with the class at the end of the activity.
Group 1: the Rhode Island Historical Society NETOP
Group 2: Providence Public Library (PPL) Digital Collections
Tip: Look for the "search" button/try searching for both theater and theatre (if searching for an historical theater)
Group 3: Rhode Island Theater Collection
Tip: Look for "Access Points" on the Table of Contents
Group 4: Providence Preservation Society's Library of House Histories
Tip: You must know the address of your building before searching here
Group 5: Guide to Providence Architecture
Tip: You must know the address of your building and find the search bar
Group 6: National Register: Rhode Island Properties
Tip: You must know the address of your building
Group 7: Library of Congress (National Black Ensemble Theater)
Tip: Try browsing here
Please take some time to review the video below and then email me to make a research appointment in person or with any questions. It's a little outdated, as the PPL has a fresh new look, but the process is the same, and will help guide you through using the resources.
JWU students, as part of the HELIN consortium of colleges, are able to visit Brown University, just a short walk away, and use their online databases, including access to the Providence Journal. Click here to learn more about your privileges.
Current students of HELIN libraries are eligible for physical access to the Brown libraries. This includes onsite use of online databases and journals at designated guest stations in the Rockefeller Library and Sciences Library. Fill out an application at the Rockefeller Library to obtain an access card, which is good for one year, but may be renewed. There is no charge for this. You must walk to the actual library to use the library resources, such as their online databases and the Providence Journal. There is NO online access.
Current students of HELIN institutions should be able to obtain materials held by Brown through their home institutions' interlibrary loan service. In addition, anyone may purchase a borrowing card for onsite borrowing privileges. Fill out an application at the Rockefeller Library to obtain a borrowing card, which is good for one year, but may be renewed. The fee structure for borrowing cards can be found on our Visitors page.
Try browsing the Rhode Island Folk Collection at the Library of Congress, especially the amazing National Black Ensemble Theatre (NBET), Newport, Rhode Island
You can also search the Providence Preservation Society's city plans including the College Hill Study, complete with photographs.
Developing a juicy topic is perhaps the most challenging step of the research process. The good news is that I'm here, along with my fellow librarians, to help you on the way.
The following guide on the Research Process has everything you need to know to get started, from developing your topic to finding primary and secondary sources.
111 Dorrance Street Providence, Rhode Island 02903
321 Harborside Boulevard Providence, RI 02905