Library Resources
Greetings!
I'm honored to be your personal librarian for ENG 1020.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
Meet with a librarian via an online research appointment.
OR Chat or text a librarian! It's anonymous and super fast!
Which library databases should you use?
My recommendations:
- Academic Search Complete
- Provides full-text, scholarly articles for a range of disciplinary subjects.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE)
- Provides a variety of sources that focus on dynamic, controversial topics.
- CQ Researcher Online (SAGE)
- Provides in-depth coverage of important issues such as social trends, the economy, health, etc.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI Collection
- Provides a multitude of full text, scholarly articles that cover a range of academic subjects.
How to Start a Search:
Step 1: Think about your research topic/question
Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts
Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
- Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
- Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health
Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)
- Full Text
- Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Your search page will look similar to this! ....
Are you wondering...
How to use the library
How to contact a librarian
& How to evaluate a source?
Wonder no more!
Take this tutorial to receive an introduction and review of all that the library has to offer.
Read each question carefully before answering. Your answers will be recorded :}
Click HERE to begin!
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
The JWU Writing Lab is open for online appointments.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1785
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab, Academic Support Services.
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
