Library Resources
Greetings from your librarian for this course! I can help you find market and media research and data, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an online appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu |
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Click on "Ask a Librarian" below to speak with a librarian immediately!
You are not alone! The librarians are here to help you find information and navigate these databases!
Click on the chat box below for quick help!
Simmons Insights
What can I find in this database?
- Demographic and other information about consumers who use the Weather Channel (and similar) apps.
- Segmentation for who is most likely to use The Weather Channel app on a variety of different devices.
- Can create cross tab reports about The Weather Channel app users and any other variable (do they like butter, do they shop on Amazon and if so, how often, do they trust websites with their private/personal information etc.)
Using Simmons Insights
Step 1: Open the database from the link above.
Step 2: Choose "Quick Reports" from "Essentials."
Step 3: Type your in your target in the search area (this is the brand/product/behavior/interest or belief for which you'd like to see demographic or segment information)
Step 4: Narrow your search by choosing a category (beverages, non-alcholic; food, general; shopping; etc.)
Step 5: Choose either the demographics report or segmentation report (see .GIF)
Step 6: Once you've chosen your target click the target icon and then the arrow (run analysis)
Step 7: (not shown in GIF) To access additional quick reports, make sure to select "Spring Simmons 2017 Connect"
Need help searching the databases? Check out our Library Help Docs for step-by-step information.
You are not alone! The librarians are here to help you find information and navigate these databases!
Click on the chat box below for quick help!
Databases where you can find market and media research (demographics, market trends, etc.):
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- Industry reports including demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends and buyer behavior
- RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
- Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
- Simmons Insights is Simmons Research’s online platform for analysis of national consumer and market insights
- Limited to 25 users at one time, please log out when done
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
- Winmo This link opens in a new window
- Directory of public and private U.S. and international companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising
- Profiles of ad agencies and brand names
- Internet Explorer will not work with the site
NOTE: You are not alone! If you get lost please contact the library/librarians! We are here to help you!
Need to find target audience and segment information? Once you know who your target audience and segment, is SRDS Claritas 360 can help you find more information about your segment.
*NOTE* SRDS works best in Chrome or Internet Explorer. Do not use it in Safari.
Claritas 360 is a software within SRDS that provides the PRIZM Premier Segments and quite a few awesome reports that will provide with information about target audience, segment information, and their likely behaviors, interests, demographic, and geographic locations.
[SRDS (and Claritas 360, accessible and available within SRDS) is excellent for direct marketing, media planning, and for helping you understand the needs and behaviors of your target segment.
SRDS cannot tell you who your target audience is (go to MRI+ for that). ]
To access Claritas 360:
Step 1: click on the blue SRDS link above.
Step 2: once on the Kantar Media/SRDS database home page, search across the top for "Claritas 360" and click (highlighted below).
Step 3: click on the button that says "Log in to Claritas 360" (highlighted below).
*Note: you are already logged in- see in the photo above it says "log out." You do not need to actually log in because you are accessing the database through the library log in.
Step 4: Choose your report.
Which Reports Do I Use?
Help Docs to help you understand the reports in Claritas 360 and what they mean:
- Identify the households that use a product or service by selecting one or more product profiles.
- View each segment’s usage data for a single product profile (household counts and calculations).
- View the data for multiple products and/or services side-by-side.
Use to find out the potential for introducing a new product or service
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Market Potential
Use to better understand your target segment and tailor your strategy/engage with group.
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Target Segment Measure
If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.
If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. Alternatively, reach out to me for help with citations!
