Greetings from your CLP librarian!
If you'd like some one-on-one help finding articles, books (eBooks and in print), reports, or any other kind of information, click here to book an appointment.
We're here for you!
Sarah Campbell | scampbell@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Click on the blue button below to chat now!
Scenario: You have to write a short paper for a class on the topic of evaluating studies which appear in popular sources. Below are several popular sources you are considering using.
Watch this video on scholarly sources to find out if your source is credible.
-
Using the ABCD criteria,work with your team to score the source you are assigned.
- Record your score here: Google Doc
- Make sure to write the name of your source.
Pro-Tip: Each team evaluates ONE of the following sources
Consider: Can a source be credible without being peer reviewed?
Is your source credible? Is the study referenced in the popular source Peer Reviewed?
Consider: If an article references a study, is it better to search for the study and read it or to read an article that mentions the study?
Has the popular source interpreted the study correctly?
Share out: Google Doc
Finding and Understanding Scholarly Articles in Journals and Library Databases
1. Watch this video about Peer Review.
2. Break into groups.
3. Each group searches in the databases/journals provided.
4. Find an article that you agree on as a group.
5. Create an APA citation for the article and post it on the doc (see below).
6. Answer the questions for your group in this Google Doc
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with a writing coach through the Academic Success Center.
US Govt. Bureau of Labor and Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook
- Enter your subfield in the search box and then click "Go"
- Find the relevant subfield from the list of results (most likely the top one)
- You can find out median pay, educational requirements, tasks, and other information about the occupation
APA Psych Careers
- Look at job descriptions and requirements IRL
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
- Library databases focused on scholarly, trade, and professional journals in the field of Psychology
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
How to Read a Scholarly/Academic Article
Often, the contents of an academic article cannot be grasped by a single reading.
You have to engage with it several times, but in different ways.
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 at no extra charge tutoring support and academic success coaching, log into JWULINK to use tutor.com and schedule a session.
Look for the link in jwuLink, type tutor.com in the search bar. It will be the first link to come up! Log in to your account with your JWU credentials and then, it will auto-populate with your name and you're ready to go.
Contact your CLP librarian, Sarah if you have any questions, concerns, or need a bit of helping getting started: scampbell@jwu.edu
Here are some great online resources:
- "APA’s 54 divisions are interest groups organized by members. Some represent subdisciplines of psychology (e.g., experimental, social or clinical) while others focus on topical areas such as aging, ethnic minorities or trauma.
APA members, and even professionals not affiliated with APA, can apply to join divisions. "
- scroll down and click on "View all Divisions"
- search by position title, key word (just enter the type of career in which you are interested, i.e. "developmental psychology" or "school psychologist"), and location.
When searching for sources for your Annotated Bibliography, you may want to start here, with the journals list:
Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology
Journal of Community Psychology
Psychology, Community & Health
You can also search the databases directly:
- Click "full text" to ensure that all of your results are immediately accessible
- Search by keyword: if you are interested in searching for information about a career working with children and teens, you may want to search for the MOST IMPORTANT words-
- "children" AND "adolescent" AND clinicians or practice
- If you are looking specifically for scholarly articles, make sure to click "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)" so that all of your results are from academic and peer reviewed journals
- Scroll to the bottom of the home page for the database and click "Explore Discipline Hubs"
- Click "Psychology & Counseling" to explore all of the articles and journals for this discipline
- Search using keywords
First-Year Reads Program: “This, I Believe” Contest deadline 9/19
As you know, all first-year students are reading pieces from the National Public Radio’s famous “This, I Believe” series. These writings have inspired people across the world to share their stories and perspectives. In the fall semester, you will take part in this, as a way to share a common academic experience with your first-year classmates.
Your fall semester English professor (ENG1020, ENG1021, ENG1024, or ENG1027) will also be including an assignment that will allow you to write your own “This, I Believe” piece. If you would like to enter the university-wide contest, please let your professor know, so your piece may be considered. There will be three winners chosen, and these essays will be highlighted during the JWU Homecoming & Family Weekend and shared with the JWU community in a variety ways.
The essay should be approximately 500 words, following the spirit and general format of the “This, I Believe” series. This year, we will not have a specific theme but allow students to explore their own ideas.
As with any essay, you will want to state your thesis clearly, which, in this case will be your “belief.” You will want to support your essay with clear points that express your views and offer specific examples and observations from your life.
The essay should be double-spaced in MLA format.
Essays must be submitted (in digital form) to your ENG1020, 1021, 1024, or 1027 professor no later than Tuesday 9/19. A committee of English faculty will read the essays, and winners will be announced by late September.
Here is a link some writing suggestions: https://thisibelieve.org/guidelines
Explore This I Believe selections for JWU First Year Reads:
The Choice to Do It Over Again
America's Beauty Is In Our Diversity
Life Is An Act of Literary Creation
A Journey Toward Acceptance and Love
