Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your librarian for ENTR4055: I can help you find articles; business, industry, or financial information; navigate the databases, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Need help searching the databases? Check out our Library Help Docs for step-by-step information.
Databases where you can find company and industry information (financials, SWOT analyses, company profiles):
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
- Financial information on thousands of stocks traded on the major exchanges, plus mutual funds and Exchange-Traded Funds (ETFs)
- Portfolio planning tools and investment advice videos
- Only a limited number of people can access Morningstar at the same time - PLEASE CLICK ON THE BUTTON "End Session"
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
Databases for market research
- RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
- SRDS This link opens in a new window
- Find ad rates, circulation figures, audience demographics, and contact info. for publishers/sales
- Identify consumer spending behavior in potential market areas
- Report titles include Business Publication Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Direct Marketing, Digital Networks & Tech, Digital Websites, International Media Guides, Local Media, Newspaper Media, Out-of-Home Media, Print Media Production, Radio Media, TV & Cable Media, and more
- IMPORTANT: A padlock icon means the library is not subscribed to that content
- To access Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions: Click on the green login button. No additional credentials are required. Allow time for the reports to load!
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the "Articles" tab from the library homepage?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
