Embedded LibGuides by Jenny

The following databases and resources will provide you with information about a country's

• culture

• business practices

• US trade relationships

• risks

• and other important information 

​​​​​​​Global Road Warrior

• To search: Choose a country from the left hand navigation menu on the databas landing page
• In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
• Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
• Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment

U.S. Department of State

• Access Business Resources (trade and export regulations, safety reports and travel advisories) 
• State Department Country Profiles (fact sheets, highlights of news and current events, safety reports, US relations) 
  • To search: Scroll to the bottom of the country profile to access the CIA World Factbook entry for the country of interest)

If you are looking for information about specific companies, try searching in the databases listed below. 

Note: You will have limited access to financial data from companies that are not publicly traded.

 Business Insights Global (Gale)

• Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
• Country economic reports, market research reports
• SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles

Business Source Complete 

• To search: [Company must be publicly traded for expanded information]
  • Choose "Company Profile" from menu on the right of the landing page
  • Type the name of the company in the search box at the top of the page. 
• Annual and up to date company profiles and narratives
  • SWOT analyses for specific companies where available 
  • Financial data, revenue, etc. 
  • Company organization and hierarchy
  • Company history, acquisitions, etc. 
• JWU Library has limited access to Harvard Business Cases- click here to learn more.

Note: You can also find limited company data in Statista and IBISWorld (see "Industry Information" tab)

Need data about specific state, national, or global industries? 

Try the databases listed below for 

• industry forecasts and outlooks

• up to date and recent developments and performance

• supply chain information

• operating conditions, revenues, and ratios

• more!

Business Source Complete 

• Over 3600 national and global industry profiles
• Can search by industry name, NAICS, and country

Statista 

• Statistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics
• Company and industry reports

IBISWorld

• Industry research for over 700 US industries

• Research on hundreds of international industries

• Watch the video below for a quick tutorial on how to navigate and access global industry data and reports

Bloomberg.com

International Business Times (US Edition)

New York Times

PR Newswire

Reuters 

• Not through the JWU library 
• Register for a free account
• Unlimited access to the website

The Economist

Wall Street Journal 

"A PESTEL analysis is an acronym for a tool used to identify the macro (external) forces facing an organization. The letters stand for Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Environmental and Legal."*

*from the Oxford College of Marketing blog

Where to go to find information for your PESTEL analysis:

Academic Search Complete

• A great place to start for most topics
• Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
• If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
• To search: When searching in this database, use keywords instead of full sentences. 
  • For example, if your research question or topic is "What are the economic impacts of opening a textile factory in Malaysia?", your keywords are ["What are the economic impacts of opening a textile factory in Malaysia"] "economic impacts," "textile factory," and "Malaysia"

CQ Researcher

• In-depth reports and analysis on hot topic issues in the news

International Trade Administration - Country Commercial Guides 

• Reports about market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs 
• Reports prepared at and by US embassies worldwide by the Commerce Dept., State Dept., and other US agencies' professionals
• To Search: 
  • Pick a guide from one of the drop down menus (i.e. Europe, China, Western Hemisphere & Canada, etc.)

Small Business Administration (SBA.gov)

• Resources for small business owners in the U.S.
• Resources for U.S. small business owners to support successful exports