PSY4300
Greetings from your librarian for PSY4300: I can help you find articles, a research topic, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Click on the "Ask a Librarian" button below for immediate help!
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
- Full-text open access, scholarly peer-reviewed journals
- Covers all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities
- Content from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations and Theses published internationally since 1997
- TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
Here's a Sample Paper In APA Format to walk you through how to write your own paper in APA format.
Check out the JWU Library's APA Style Guide!
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
Let's explore these databases!
Each group will be assigned one database to explore.
and will share their findings with the class at the end of the activity.
- Group 1: psycArticles
- Group 2: Statista
- Group 3: Academic Search Complete
- Group 4: Dissertations &Theses Full Text Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences
- Group 5: Directory of Open Access Journals
- Group 6: Psychiatry Online w/ DSM Manual
