Library & Research Help
Welcome. I am so happy to serve as your library liaison!
Think of me as your research partner...I can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it!
Visit our homepage to learn more.
To meet with me for specialized research assistance, schedule a research appointment or reach out directly: jcastel@jwu.edu
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
For immediate help, use the Ask a librarian chat below or Text us.
Search for Articles on the JWU Library Website!
Click the "Articles" tab to get started!
For complex searches, click the "Articles Advanced Search" option!
Input your main keywords on each search line:
Explore JWU Library's A-Z Subject Databases for extensive research!
Here are my Top Database Recommendations:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
- Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
- Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Nursing and medical journals, general interest health and fitness magazines, reference books and information
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources
- Many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals
- Newspapers: US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- Search or browse articles in several major US newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Useful for understanding current events, finding company and biographical information, and obtaining general information on a topic
Explore LinkedIn Learning's Tutorials!
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- Enhance your skills in business, technology, and creativity with expert-led video tutorials
- Create custom playlists and assign to students or colleagues
- How to use LinkedIn Learning
JWU Writing Support
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing professionals are available to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Online Students: Visit the Online Writing Center to contact a writing coach
PVD Campus Students: Contact the Writing Lab to book an appointment with a writing coach
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1785
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab, Academic Support Services.
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
JWU library has a style guide:
Need additional help? Check out these free resources:
- Scribbr Student's Guide to APA
- Excelsior Online Writing Lab
- Purdue OWL
- ZoteroBib: Citation Generator
- Citing an Interview: EasyBib
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- Schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed.
