Greetings! I'm honored to be one of your librarians for ENG 1020.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | firstname.lastname@example.org | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!
Online? Check out the Online Students tab for specific writing help, just for you!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Academic Success Center at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
Looking for MS Office Suite or Microsoft Word? Click here to download it for free!
Looking for research? We can help!
This is a great place to start:
Pro-Tip: Click Full Text on the left hand side so you can read everything online right away, and look for the Cite button on the right hand side to copy and paste citations (and save a ton of time!)
Reporting & analysis of issues in the news
Need research on controversial topics? This database is your friend. Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.
Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.
Looking for statistics to quote, FAST? Check out this awesome database! Just toss in your search term, and you're good to go.
Using Google can be really helpful when you're doing research, especially if you use these quick tips!
1. Change the "Domain"
2. Put your search in "Quotes"
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
Image label (If including image in your written work):
Fig. 1 New York Sunshine. (WGSN Denim Team, [Sept. 2018]).
In the text:
WGSN Denim Team [Sept. 2018].
In your list of figures or references (omit figure number if you haven't included the image in your assignment)
Figure 1. WGSN Denim Team. [Sept. 2018] New York Sunshine. WGSN. Denim Forecast S/S 20: Empower Up! [Online image]. available from https://www-wgsn-com.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/content/board_viewer/#/80499/page/1
Working on your Annotated Bibliography? We can help!
Here is an AMAZING example that walks you through the entire process - just click to read.
An annotation is super simple - basically, it's a few sentences about the kind of source you're using. Our friends at the OWL have some awesome, detailed tips!
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.
For more help, see our handout on paraphrasing sources.
For more help, see our handouts on evaluating resources.
Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.
Did you know that the Providence Public Library is AMAZING and only two blocks away from Downcity? They have thousands of books, films, audio books, music, and special collections that will terrify and intrigue. Seriously. It's awesome and totally 100% free!
Check it out at Providence Public Library
You can learn all about how to get your own super sweet Providence Public Library card here
Is this source credible?
Pro-Tip: Each team evaluates ONE of the following sources:
To take the Information Literacy Module, click here.
111 Dorrance Street Providence, Rhode Island 02903
321 Harborside Boulevard Providence, RI 02905