Library Resources
Greetings from the library!
I'm Jenny, your librarian for this course.
I can help you with your research, pick a topic, find articles, etc. or answer any other questions.
For one-on-one help with research, click here to book an appointment.
You can also email me: jcastel@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Click on the blue button below to chat now!
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Sports and sports medicine research including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology
- In addition to journals and ebooks, the database includes references to thousands of dissertations and theses
- "COVID-19 and Soccer Teams on Instagram: The Case of Corporate Social Responsibility"López-Carril, Samuel, and Christos Anagnostopoulos. “COVID-19 and Soccer Teams on Instagram: The Case of Corporate Social Responsibility.” International Journal of Sport Communication, vol. 13, no. 3, Sept. 2020, pp. 447–457. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=s3h&AN=145727439&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
- Coronavirus: impact on the pro sports industry worldwidePro Tip: Download PDF or PPT for easier reading
- Pandemic and Sport: The Challenges and Implications of Publicly Financed Sporting Venues in an Era of No FansMayer, Martin, and Adam R. Cocco. “Pandemic and Sport: The Challenges and Implications of Publicly Financed Sporting Venues in an Era of No Fans.” Public Works Management & Policy, vol. 26, no. 1, Jan. 2021, pp. 26–33, doi:10.1177/1087724X20969161.
- When Sport Event Work Stopped: Exposure of Sport Event Labor Precarity by the COVID-19 Pandemic.Sheptak Jr., R.Dale, and Brian E. Menaker. “When Sport Event Work Stopped: Exposure of Sport Event Labor Precarity by the COVID-19 Pandemic.” International Journal of Sport Communication, vol. 13, no. 3, Sept. 2020, pp. 427–435. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=s3h&AN=145727437&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple.
This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
The JWU Online Writing Coaches are here to help you with writing!
- COE Writing Support
- You can make an appointment for one-on-one sessions with a writing coach
- Sessions are by phone or zoom
