Greetings from the library!
Our awesome team of librarians share virtual office hours, so if you'd like some one-on-one help finding articles, industry information, or demographic data, click here to book an appointment or let us know a time that works for you.
We're here for you!
Meika Matook | mmatook@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Click on the blue button below to chat now!
You have access to thousands of articles, reports, and data through the JWU Library.
Make sure to access the databases through the links below or from the library website.
Got questions or need help right away? Chat with a librarian by clicking on the button below or anywhere you see the "Ask a Librarian" button!
To find the "overall state of the Beverage Industry"...
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
To find "the current market and trends for Spirits, Wine, Beer, and Non-Alcoholic offerings" use...
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
Did you know you can find demographic data from the US Census and American Community Survey for free?
data.census.gov
Watch the video to find out how to access demographic data for census tracts (just a few city blocks!) in your area
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Culinary Arts (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Selective full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines
- Includes recipes, restaurant reviews, industry trends and news
- Food Science Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Access to vital information from industry-leading sources covering all aspects of food science, nutrition and related areas
- Full text articles with images, tables, charts and other graphical content from many key journals
- Benchmarks and best practices, providing examples of food science-related practices and developments from a world-wide range of industry players
- Beer ConnoisseurThis journal "explores the beer culture and the beer industry, including craft, imports and culinary pairings."
- Beer & BrewerThis periodical "covers beer news, beer & food matching and tasting."
- Journal of Wine ResearchThis academic journal presents "scholarly & scientific studies of viticulture, oneology & the wine trade."
- Food & WineThis publication is "for those interested in various aspects of food, wine, entertaining, and travel. Topics include home, travel, what's new, and healthy eating."
- SaveurThis publication "emphasizes heritage and tradition, home cooking and real food from around the world."
- Imbibe Magazine"With wide-ranging recipes, reviews, profiles and travelogues, Imbibe is the go-to guide to drinks, from wine, spirits and beer to coffee, tea and everything in between."
In the JWU library have two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
