Embedded LibGuides by Jenny

Looking for sources for your informative speech?

Through the library you have access to databases with articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines

Click on the links below (in blue) to begin your search in the database that's right for your information needs!

Academic Search Complete

• full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. 
• Once you open the link above, enter in your basic search terms, such as "Texting while Driving"
• Limit to Full Text, so you can read articles online

Credo Reference

• Over 500 reference books online including biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and quotations in many subject areas

The New York Times

• Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news.
• Click on the link above, click on the date in which you are interested.
• You can then search by article title or topic.

Looking for sources for your persuasive speech?

Through the library you have access to databases with articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines, as well as statistics

and reports full of data to support your claim. 

Click on the links below (in blue) to begin your search in the database that's right for your information needs!

CQ Researcher

• In-depth reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
• Covers the economy, education, the environment, criminal justice, health, international affairs, social trends, technology, and other important issues.
• Tip: Hover over the "Browse Topics" menu item once you've opened the database from the link above. 
• Tip: Look for the button to cite the report in the MLA style!

Opposing Viewpoints

• Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.

• Tip: Not sure of your topic yet? Once you've clicked on the link above, click on "Browse Issues" and search through the topics listed there to find one that speaks to you!

• Tip: Look for the icon to generate an MLA style citation to add to your works cited!

Statista

• Statistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics! 
• Enter your own search terms or browse data reports listed under these links: Categories, Key Topics, Popular Statistics, and Recent Statistics.
• Tip: Search by keyword or phrase.
• Tip: Download charts or graphs to add to your visual aid! 
• Tip: Look for the icon to generate an MLA style citation to add to your works cited!

MLA Style Guide

If you need more in depth guidance on formatting than what the JWU library style guide has to offer, go to the Purdue OWL. 

Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?

• If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach. 
• If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an online appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed in JWULink, under the Academics tab.

Citing Sources in a Speech, explained

Citing sources within a speech is a three-step process: 

1. Set up the citation

2. Give the citation

3. Explain the citation

First, you want to set up your audience for the citation. The setup is one or two sentences that are general statements that lead to the specific information you are going to discuss from your source.

Here’s an example: “Workplace bullying is becoming an increasing problem for US organizations.” Notice that this statement doesn’t provide a specific citation yet, but the statement introduces the basic topic.

Second, you want to deliver the source; whether it is a direct quotation or a paraphrase of information from a source doesn’t matter at this point. A direct quotation is when you cite the actual words from a source with no changes. To paraphrase is to take a source’s basic idea and condense it using your own words. The following is an example of both:

Direct quote:

"In a 2009 report titled Bullying: Getting Away With It, the Workplace Bullying Institute wrote, “Doing nothing to the bully (ensuring impunity) was the most common employer tactic (54%).”

Paraphrase:

"According to a 2009 study by the Workplace Bullying Institute titled Bullying: Getting Away With It, when employees reported bullying, 54 percent of employers did nothing at all."

You’ll notice that in both of these cases, we started by citing the author of the study—in this case, the Workplace Bullying Institute. We then provided the title of the study. You could also provide the name of the article, book, podcast, movie, or other source. In the direct quotation example, we took information right from the report. In the second example, we summarized the same information.^[3]

The third and final step in correct source citation within a speech is the explanation. One of the biggest mistakes of beginning public speakers (and research writers) is that they include a source citation and then do nothing with the citation at all. Instead, take the time to explain the quotation or paraphrase to put into the context of your speech. Do not let your audience draw their own conclusions about the quotation or paraphrase. Instead, help them make the connections you want them to make. Here are two examples using the examples above:

Bullying Example

"Clearly, organizations need to be held accountable for investigating bullying allegations. If organizations will not voluntarily improve their handling of this problem, the legal system may be required to step in and enforce sanctions for bullying, much as it has done with sexual harassment."

Aha! Example

"As many of us know, reaching that “aha!” moment does not always come quickly, but there are definitely some strategies one can take to help speed up this process."

Notice how in both of our explanations we took the source’s information and then added to the information to direct it for our specific purpose. In the case of the bullying citation, we then propose that businesses should either adopt workplace bullying guidelines or face legal intervention. In the case of the “aha!” example, we turn the quotation into a section on helping people find their thesis or topic. In both cases, we were able to use the information to further our speech.

Finding and Understanding Scholarly Sources 

Scenario: You have to write a short research paper for English 1027. Your professor requires that at least two of the articles you include in your works cited are scholarly.

Consider: What does scholarly mean? What makes a source scholarly? Why is your professor even requiring scholarly sources? How do you find a scholarly source and then read it?

Key terms for this activity:

Scholarly

Abstract

Claim, argument, or research question

Literature Review

Methodology 

Findings

Conclusion

Instructions:

Find Your Group Number on this Google Doc and write the name of each person in your group!

1. Each group has been provided with a sample research question and keywords. 

2. Use your sample research question and keywords to find a scholarly article or original research article, using the Library’s Articles tab

3. Skim headings of the article (ex. Introduction, Literature review)

4. Identify a claim or research question (Hint: look in Abstract!)

5. Identify the findings (Hint: Look in discussion/conclusion) 

6. Find one quote from an older article mentioned in the introduction or literature review

7. (If there is one) Methodology: Identify a group studied

8. Share out to the rest of the class