ENG 1020 Spring 2023
Welcome. We are so happy to serve as your library liaisons!
Think of us as your research partners...We can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.
If you ever want to meet with us for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment.
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
Scenario: You have to write a short paper for a media communications class on the topic of media representation of historically marginalized identities
Using the ABCD criteria on your Google Doc, work with your team to score the source you are assigned.
Is your source credible? Let's watch a video on scholarly sources to find out.
Pro-Tip: Each team evaluates ONE of the following sources:
Source 1
Source 2
Source 3
Source 4
Source 5
Source 6
Source 7
Which library databases should you use?
My recommendations:
- Academic Search Complete
- Provides full-text, scholarly articles for a range of disciplinary subjects.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE)
- Provides a variety of sources that focus on dynamic, controversial topics.
- CQ Researcher Online (SAGE)
- Provides in-depth coverage of important issues such as social trends, the economy, health, etc.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI Collection
- Provides a multitude of full text, scholarly articles that cover a range of academic subjects.
How to Start a Search:
Step 1: Think about your research topic/question
Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts
Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
- Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
- Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health
Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)
- Full Text
- Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Your search page will look similar to this! ....
MLA Basics
- In-text Citations: (Author's last name and the page number). Period after the in-text citation.
- Example: “There is a significant relationship between auditors’ assessments of the relevance and reliability of reported information and their attitudes to creative accounting” (Ionescu 161).
- Need more help? Click here!
- General paper format:
- Times New Roman
- 1-inch margins
- double spaced
- indent each new paragraph
- Need more help? Click here!
- Works Cited page:
- last page
- double spaced
- citations listed in alphabetical order
- hanging indents
- appropriate citation format for each source type (i.e. book vs. article)
- Need more help? Click here!
- How to Cite an Interview!
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network or click here to make a writing tutor appointment.
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
Explore This I Believe selections for JWU First Year Reads:
The Choice to Do It Over Again
America's Beauty Is In Our Diversity
Life Is An Act of Literary Creation
A Journey Toward Acceptance and Love
There is No Such Thing as Too Much Barbecue
First-Year Reads Program: “This, I Believe” Contest 2022
As you know, all first-year students are reading pieces from the National Public Radio’s famous “This, I Believe” series. These writings have inspired people across the world to share their stories and perspectives. In ENG1020 (or ENG1024), you will take part in this, as a way to share a common academic experience with your first-year classmates.
Your ENG1020 (or ENG1024) professor will also be including an assignment that will allow you to write your own “This, I Believe” piece. If you would like to enter the university-wide contest, please let your professor know, so your piece may be considered. There will be three winners chosen, and these essays will be highlighted during the JWU Homecoming & Family Weekend and shared with the JWU community in a variety ways.
The essay should be approximately 500 words, following the spirit and general format of the “This, I Believe” series. This year, our contest’s theme is “Food, Culture and Connectedness.” We hope that the contest essays will use food as a vehicle to tell a culturally specific stories and to elevate marginalized voices. Consider how food has played a part in shaping your identity, your family, and/or your community. While food serves as basic sustenance, it can also provide a platform for personal exploration and societal change.
As with any essay, you will want to state your thesis clearly, which, in this case will be your “belief.” You will want to support your essay with clear points that express your views and offer specific examples and observations from your life.
The essay should be double-spaced in MLA format.
Essays must be submitted (in digital form) to your ENG1020 (or ENG1024) professor no later than 9/20. A committee of English faculty will read the essays, and winners will be announced by late September.
Here is a link with more examples and some writing suggestions: https://thisibelieve.org/
Be brave. Your words are more powerful than you know.
