Library Resources
Greetings from the library!
Our awesome team of librarians share virtual office hours, so if you'd like some one-on-one help finding articles, company or industry information, or any resources, click here to book a research appointment.
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Click on the blue button below to chat now!
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Sports and sports medicine research including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology
- In addition to journals and ebooks, the database includes references to thousands of dissertations and theses
IBISWorld
-
industry research for over 700 US industries
-
research on hundreds of international industries
-
Watch the video below for a quick tutorial on how to navigate and access global industry data and reports
First Research
- 80+ in-depth industry profiles and 900 smaller industry segments.
- Overview of business challenges, trends, industry opportunities.
-
NOTE: You must click through 3 pages (2 "Continue" and 1 "Submit" page) before reaching the "Search for Industry and Geographic Profiles" main page.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
There are a few ways to limit your Google search to make your results more effective. Of course, a Google Scholar search will bring you lots of academic results, and it is a great place to start. The problem is that accessing the full text of those resources may require a subscription - if you run into this problem, please email me so I can help you locate the article in our subscriptions.
Here are some tips for making your Google search a better one
1. Domain limiting
If you don't know the difference between .org, .edu., .com, .gov, read this first.
Google allows you to limit your results to those articles appearing only on websites with certain domains. For example, to return results only from government sites, you would type your search string followed by "site: .gov"
In fact, you can search any website using this technique - just enter the entire address after "site:"
2. Explicit phrase
If you are searching for content about say, a sporting event, consider that this is actually a phrase (consisting of more than one word), and search for it explicitly using quotation marks. As in "sporting event."
3. Related search
If you find a website that has really great content, and you want to find something else that is similar, perform a related search by typing - related: yourwonderfulwebsite.com
