Library Resources
Greetings from your librarian for ADC1011! I can help you find market and media research and data, or answer any other question.
Feeling anxious? Make an online appointment for 1:1 support.
Jennifer Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu
Feeling overwhelmed? Chat with us instead! We're here for you.
Click on the "Ask a Librarian" button below for immediate support from the JWU librarians!
For links to the databases and reports on how to navigate them and find the information you need, go to the next tab to the right "Databases"
Start with:
Market studies containing consumer demographics are used to describe the readers, viewers, or listeners of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and Websites.
2. SRDS- Standard Rates and Delivery Services:
What would it cost to advertise your business or service in magazines, newspapers, radio, television, or websites?
Find:
- Ad Rates
- Circulation figures
- Demographics of your targeted audience
- Contact information for publishers/sales
- Submission requirements
Reports containing:
- Demographics
- Market trends
- Growth & shares
- Forecasts
- Analysis of major brands
- New product introduction trends
- Consumer trends & buyer behavior
4. Richard K. Miller E-Books on:
|
|
Need help searching the databases? Check out our Library Help Docs for step-by-step information.
Or, check out this quick information about MRI+ and SRDS.
For segment narratives collected and analyzed from US Census Bureau and the Neilson Media Study data , check out PRIZM Segment Narratives
Databases where you can find company and industry information (financials, SWOT analysis, profiles):
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
- Country economic reports, market research reports
- SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
Databases where you can find market and media research (demographics, market trends, etc.):
- RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- Industry reports including demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends and buyer behavior
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
- Winmo This link opens in a new window
- Directory of public and private U.S. and international companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising
- Profiles of ad agencies and brand names
- Internet Explorer will not work with the site
NOTE: You are not alone! If you get lost please contact the library/librarians! We are here to help you!
Need to find target audience and segment information? Once you know who your target audience and segment, is SRDS Claritas 360 can help you find more information about your segment.
*NOTE* SRDS works best in Chrome or Internet Explorer. Do not use it in Safari.
Claritas 360 is a software within SRDS that provides the PRIZM Premier Segments and quite a few awesome reports that will provide with information about target audience, segment information, and their likely behaviors, interests, demographic, and geographic locations.
[SRDS (and Claritas 360, accessible and available within SRDS) is excellent for direct marketing, media planning, and for helping you understand the needs and behaviors of your target segment.
SRDS cannot tell you who your target audience is (go to MRI+ for that). ]
To access Claritas 360:
Step 1: click on the blue SRDS link above.
Step 2: once on the Kantar Media/SRDS database home page, search across the top for "Claritas 360" and click (highlighted below).
Step 3: click on the button that says "Log in to Claritas 360" (highlighted below).
*Note: you are already logged in- see in the photo above it says "log out." You do not need to actually log in because you are accessing the database through the library log in.
Step 4: Choose your report!
Which Reports Do I Use?
Help Docs to help you understand the reports in Claritas 360 and what they mean:
- Identify the households that use a product or service by selecting one or more product profiles.
- View each segment’s usage data for a single product profile (household counts and calculations).
- View the data for multiple products and/or services side-by-side.
Use to find out the potential for introducing a new product or service
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Market Potential
Use to better understand your target segment and tailor your strategy/engage with group.
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Target Segment Measure
If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.
If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. Alternatively, reach out to me for help with citations!
