Library Resources
Greetings from the library!
We are here to provide you with one-on-one help finding articles, original research, or data sets click here to book an appointment.
Please feel free to email me, Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Click on the blue button below to chat now!
To find articles, dissertations, and theses on social science topics go to...
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations and Theses published internationally since 1997
- TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
Pro Tip: To find up to up to date sociological research as well as a broad range of studies over time, click on "Explore Discipline Hubs"
To find bite-sized statistics (along with downloadable charts and graphs) go to...
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
For tables of US Census data through a library database...
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
- The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States
- Fun fact: First published in 1878!
For US Census and American Communities Survey Data...
1. Watch this video to help you understand how to navigate and access the Census and ACS survey data on the US Census website
2. Go to data.census.gov and begin your search for tables of demographic data going back many years.
For US. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission statistics on discrimination visit the EEOC
Visit the US Bureau of Labor for more statistics
List of Public Data Sources
- GSS Data Explorer | NORC at the University of Chicago\n
- Harvard Dataverse
- IPUMS
- Data USA
- ICPSR: Find Data
- Sources And Methodological Information | Recession Trends
- Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) Program
- National Longitudinal Surveys Home Page
- Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)
- American FactFinder
- NSFG - National Survey of Family Growth Homepage
- Data Spark RI
- About the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study | Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study
- The Association of Religion Data Archives | Quality Data on Religion
- GitHub - awesomedata/awesome-public-datasets: A topic-centric list of HQ open datasets
- Statsweb (Stanford): Data Sources
- CoolDatasets.com
- Datasets/Raw Data - Health Statistics & Data - Library Guides at UC Berkeley
- Google: Dataset Search
Public Data Sources
SPSS Tutorials
- LinkedInlearning (Search SPSS)
- Detailed SPSS Tutorials (Kent State)
- Video (3 Min): SPSS Output and Visualization
- Video (4 Min): SPSS Data Sources (IBM)
- Video (4 Min): Data Preparation
How to Read a Scholarly/Academic Article
Often, the contents of an academic article cannot be grasped by a single reading.
You have to engage with it several times, but in different ways.
