Library Resources
Greetings! I'm your personal librarian for MRKT1002! I can help you find information for your final project such as market research and business and financial information, help you navigate the databases or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
NOTE: You are not alone! If you get lost please contact the library/librarians! We are here to help you!
Final Project Resources
Please scroll to the bottom of the box for more information about additional resources.
We have awesome resources to help you find market research about demographics and who is most likely to engage in a behavior (to use a specific product, for example, use an app, etc.) or purchase a product/brand.
MRI+
The reports in this database can help you:
- find out who is most likely to purchase or use a product (and how often) based on demographic information (age, hh income, education level, race, gender, etc.)
- find out who if people who purchase or use a product or engage in a behavior or likely to access a specific media channel (websites, apps, magazines, social media platforms)
- find out if a certain demographic is likely to purchase or use a product or engage in a behavior
MRI+ is a good first step in find out who is and creating a profile for your target segment.
To use MRI+ you will need to create an account.
How to create an account
Step 1: use your JWU wildcats email.
Step 2: check your junk folder and open the validation email from client.services@gfk.com
Step 3: You are ready to search for your brand's target market/target consumers in MRI+!
Step 4: If you are unsure, check out the "How to read a GFKMRI+ University Reporter report" file attached.
The library also has a resource to help you find target audience and segment information. You can access these reports through
*NOTE* SRDS works best in Chrome or Internet Explorer. Do not use it in Safari.
Claritas 360 is a software within SRDS that provides the PRIZM Premier Segments and quite a few awesome reports that will provide with information about target audience, segment information, and their likely behaviors, interests, demographic, and geographic locations.
To access Claritas 360:
Step 1: click on the blue SRDS link above.
Step 2: once on the Kantar Media/SRDS database home page, search across the top for "Claritas 360" and click (highlighted below).
Step 3: click on the button that says "Log in to Claritas 360" (highlighted below).
*Note: you are already logged in- see in the photo above it says "log out." You do not need to actually log in because you are accessing the database through the library log in.
Step 4: Choose your report.
Which Reports Do I Use?
Help Docs to help you understand the reports in Claritas 360 and what they mean:
- Identify the households that use a product or service by selecting one or more product profiles.
- View each segment’s usage data for a single product profile (household counts and calculations).
- View the data for multiple products and/or services side-by-side.
Use to find out the potential for introducing a new product or service
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Market Potential
Use to better understand your target segment and tailor your strategy/engage with group.
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Target Segment Measure
Need help searching the databases? Check out our Library Help Docs for step-by-step information.
Or, check out this quick information about MRI+ and SRDS.
For segment narratives collected and analyzed from US Census Bureau and the Neilson Media Study data , check out PRIZM Segment Narratives
Databases where you can find market research (demographics, market trends, etc.):
- RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- Industry reports including demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends and buyer behavior
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
Databases where you can find company and industry information (financials, SWOT analysis, profiles):
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
- Country economic reports, market research reports
- SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
- SRDS This link opens in a new window
- Find ad rates, circulation figures, audience demographics, and contact info. for publishers/sales
- Identify consumer spending behavior in potential market areas
- Report titles include Business Publication Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Direct Marketing, Digital Networks & Tech, Digital Websites, International Media Guides, Local Media, Newspaper Media, Out-of-Home Media, Print Media Production, Radio Media, TV & Cable Media, and more
- IMPORTANT: A padlock icon means the library is not subscribed to that content
- To access Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions: Click on the green login button. No additional credentials are required. Allow time for the reports to load!
**Tech Tip: SRDS and the Claritas 360 platform do not work well in Safari. If possible, use Firefox or Chrome**
- MyBestSegments.comUse this free app to find out the demographics and lifestyles of segments in your neighborhood!
- Segment DetailsDetails of the PRIZM segments (by lifestage or social grouping) on an interactive website. Easy to navigate and free to use. You may access the "snapshot" and the interactive map. However, go through the library to access the more in depth reports available through the subscription database.
Which Reports Do I Use?
Help Docs to help you understand the reports in Claritas 360 and what they mean:
- Profile Worksheet ReportThe Profile Worksheet report shows usage information, by segment, for products and services (product profiles). You can use the report to:
- Identify the households that use a product or service by selecting one or more product profiles.
- View each segment’s usage data for a single product profile (household counts and calculations).
- View the data for multiple products and/or services side-by-side. - Claritas PRIZM® Premier Segment DescriptionsDescribes the 68 Segments that Claritas places every household into based on where they live, what is their income, if they own their own home, and if they have children
- Claritas 360 Market Potential Report: Interpretations and CalculationsUse this report to learn about how many adults/households are participating in a target behavior in your market and analysis area (location)
Use to find out the potential for introducing a new product or service
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Market Potential - Claritas 360 Target Segment Measure ReportThis report allows you to look at the lifestyles and behaviors tied to people in a target segment.
Use to better understand your target segment and tailor your strategy/engage with group.
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Target Segment Measure
If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.
If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. Alternatively, reach out to me for help with citations!
