Library Resources
Greetings from your librarian for this course! I can help you find market research and data, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Need help searching the databases? Check out our Library Help Docs for step-by-step information.
Or, check out this quick information about MRI+ and SRDS.
For segment narratives collected and analyzed from US Census Bureau and the Neilson Media Study data , check out PRIZM Segment Narratives
Databases where you can find company and industry information (financials, SWOT analysis, profiles):
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
- Country economic reports, market research reports
- SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
Databases where you can find market research (demographics, market trends, etc.):
- RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- Industry reports including demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends and buyer behavior
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.
If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. Alternatively, reach out to me for help with citations!
- SRDS This link opens in a new window
- Find ad rates, circulation figures, audience demographics, and contact info. for publishers/sales
- Identify consumer spending behavior in potential market areas
- Report titles include Business Publication Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Direct Marketing, Digital Networks & Tech, Digital Websites, International Media Guides, Local Media, Newspaper Media, Out-of-Home Media, Print Media Production, Radio Media, TV & Cable Media, and more
- IMPORTANT: A padlock icon means the library is not subscribed to that content
- To access Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions: Click on the green login button. No additional credentials are required. Allow time for the reports to load!
**Tech Tip: SRDS and the Claritas 360 platform do not work well in Safari. If possible, use Firefox or Chrome**
- MyBestSegments.comUse this free app to find out the demographics and lifestyles of segments in your neighborhood!
- Segment DetailsDetails of the PRIZM segments (by lifestage or social grouping) on an interactive website. Easy to navigate and free to use. You may access the "snapshot" and the interactive map. However, go through the library to access the more in depth reports available through the subscription database.
Which Reports Do I Use?
Help Docs to help you understand the reports in Claritas 360 and what they mean:
- Claritas PRIZM® Premier Segment DescriptionsDescribes the 68 Segments that Claritas places every household into based on where they live, what is their income, if they own their own home, and if they have children
- Claritas 360 Market Potential Report: Interpretations and CalculationsUse this report to learn about how many adults/households are participating in a target behavior in your market and analysis area (location)
Use to find out the potential for introducing a new product or service
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Market Potential - Claritas 360 Target Segment Measure ReportThis report allows you to look at the lifestyles and behaviors tied to people in a target segment.
Use to better understand your target segment and tailor your strategy/engage with group.
How to get there:
Segmentation Reports > Lifestyle Reports > Target Segment Measure
Let's explore these databases!
Each group will be assigned one database to explore.
Time permitting, each group will share their findings with the class at the end of the activity.
-
Group 1: Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles. -
Group 2: Statista
Statistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics! Enter your own search terms or browse data reports listed under these links: Categories, Key Topics, Popular Statistics, and Recent Statistics. A sampling includes college enrollment with projections up to 2020 in the U.S., college payment (how U.S. families pay for college), college sports, debit cards, demographics (size & characteristics of a population), employment outlook, food & beverage, footwear & apparel, global climate change, hospital costs, hospitality (conventions, conferences, dining & accommodations), immigration, mobile Internet & apps, nutrition, online shopping, personal debt, smartphones, social media, travel & tourism (cruise industry), video gaming, wages & salaries. NOTE: Click through any security certificate warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear in order to proceed to the Statista website and display all content. THE EXPERT TOOLS OPTIONS ARE NOT INCLUDED WITH JWU'S SUBSCRIPTION. -
Group 3: IBISWorld
Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries." -
Group 4: First Research (Mergent)
17 kinds of FINANCIAL RATIOS for more than 380+ in-depth industry profiles and 900 smaller industry segments. Find an overview of business challenges, trends, industry opportunities. See also "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment & wage data for each of the 50 states. And, link to "Call Prep Questions" from within an industry to prepare for job interviews! NOTE: YOU MUST CLICK THROUGH 3 PAGES (2 "Continue" and 1 "Submit" page) before reaching the "Search for Industry and Geographic Profiles" main page. -
Group 5: RKMA Market Research Handbooks
E-books in such fields as Casinos & Gaming, Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment/Media & Advertising, Healthcare Business, Leisure, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retailing, Sports Marketing, and Travel & Tourism. -
Group 6: MRI+
(Access limited to 20 simultaneous users)
Market research studies contain consumer demographics which describe the "readers, viewers, or listeners" of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and websites. TO REGISTER, log into jwuLink using your JWU credentials, then select the link to the library's homepage. At the login screen click on "Register,” enter your name, and JWU email address. Next, look for a validation email from clientservices@gfkmri.com. NOTE: Check your mailbox folders to make sure the vendor's email isn't stuck in your junk mail. Click on the link in the vendor's email to activate your account (YOU MUST DO THIS WITHIN 3 DAYS) and then enter a password of your choice when prompted. Next time DO NOT SELECT REGISTER, just log in with your JWU email address & password. NOTE: 1) You can only use a JWU e-mail account; 2) You must click on "Accept the license agreement;" 3) Turn off all pop-up blockers; 4) Google Chrome browser will not work; 5) LOG OUT at the end of your session. CURRENT OR FORMER USERS: Re-register TWICE A YEAR around JANUARY 1 & JULY 1 and CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD while following the same instructions for first-time users.
Market research studies contain consumer demographics which describe the "readers, viewers, or listeners" of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and websites. TO REGISTER, log into jwuLink using your JWU credentials, then select the link to the library's homepage. At the login screen click on "Register,” enter your name, and JWU email address. Next, look for a validation email from clientservices@gfkmri.com. NOTE: Check your mailbox folders to make sure the vendor's email isn't stuck in your junk mail. Click on the link in the vendor's email to activate your account (YOU MUST DO THIS WITHIN 3 DAYS) and then enter a password of your choice when prompted. Next time DO NOT SELECT REGISTER, just log in with your JWU email address & password. NOTE: 1) You can only use a JWU e-mail account; 2) You must click on "Accept the license agreement;" 3) Turn off all pop-up blockers; 4) Google Chrome browser will not work; 5) LOG OUT at the end of your session. CURRENT OR FORMER USERS: Re-register TWICE A YEAR around JANUARY 1 & JULY 1 and CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD while following the same instructions for first-time users.
