Embedded LibGuides by Jenny

Psychology Journals

Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology

Journal of Community Psychology

Counseling & Clinical Psychology

Counseling & Human Development

The Counseling Psychologist

Counseling Today

Guidance and Counseling

Psychology, Community & Health

For this assignment, each team will present to the class a Case Study of the character and mental health disorder you selected. But first put this “disorder” into a broader context, looking at the “macro” (the number of people in the U.S. who suffer from this disorder; the reported demographics and statistics, symptoms, or “range” of this disorder; etc.). Then focus on the “micro” by doing an actual Case Study of the film character with that disorder (following Prof. Mosko’s requirements – see “Guidelines for Case Study Presentation” document on ulearn).

This presentation should be 30 minutes in length, with 10 to 15 viable research sources, including sources from the JWU databases and the DMS-5.

Start here: 

Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5)

• Pro-Tip:  Click on the "i"/ "Details" for related articles on the disorder.
• Open the "Table of Contents" and then "Section II" to find a specific disorder (and related disorders). 

National Institute of Mental Health 

• Federal agency for mental health research 
• Can find highlights on ongoing research funded by this agency
• Pro-Tip: Topics Menu on the Left of the landing page (sorted by disorder, population, etc.)
   

CDC, National Center for Health Statistics 

• Centers For Disease Control, federal agency, 
• FastStats index: up to date statistics, reports, and resources 
   

Statista 

• Statistics on just about every topic you can think of (well, maybe not every topic). 
• Pro-Tip: like for the cite button 
   

CINAHL Complete

• Nursing and allied health research
• Most articles are full-text
• If full-text is not available, select "Check for full-text" to submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request
   

PsycARTICLES 

• Library database with original research, reviews, and other kinds of articles from over 80 journals
• Covers a variety of psych. topics
   

Health and Wellness (Gale)

• Medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources
• Many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals

You can find popular sources such as magazine and newspaper articles through the JWU library!

Need help searching these publications? Ask a Librarian! 

Forbes

National Geographic

Scientific American

The New York Times

Time Magazine

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)

You can also find popular sources in Academic Search Complete (Pro Tip: library database, don't forget to refine by "magazine" or "newspaper")

Pro Tip: Look for "search within this publication"

• you can search by using keywords (remember, we talked about this last semester when searching in the databases!) or phrases
• you may also want to search by the kind of study
• Look for the "cite" button 

How to Read a Scholarly/Academic Article 

Often, the contents of an academic article cannot be grasped by a single reading.

You have to engage with it several times, but in different ways.

Don't forget to cite ALL of your sources in the APA style

 To cite the DSM-5: https://guides.library.ualberta.ca/apa-citation-style/dsm-v

The JWU Library has an APA style guide: https://pvd.library.jwu.edu/apa_manual

Ask a librarian if you need help!

Finding and Understanding Scholarly Sources 

Scenario: You have to write a research paper for English 1021. Your professor requires that at least two of the articles you include in your works cited are scholarly.

Consider: What does scholarly mean? What makes a source scholarly? Why is your professor even requiring scholarly sources? How do you find a scholarly source and then read it?

Video

Article

Instructions:

Find Your Group Number on the Google Doc  below for your class time and write the name of each person in your group!

Google Doc 

1. Each group has been provided with a sample research question and keywords and a sample scholarly article or original research article.

2. Skim headings of the article (ex. Introduction, Literature review)

3. Identify a claim or research question (Hint: look in Abstract!)

4. Identify the findings (Hint: Look in discussion/conclusion) 

5. Find one quote from an older article mentioned in the introduction or literature review

6. (If there is one) Methodology: Identify a group studied

7. Share out to the rest of the class

kahoot.it