Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your librarian for ENTR4010: I can help you find articles; business, industry, or financial information; navigate the databases, or answer any other question.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
Databases where you can find company and industry information (financials, SWOT analyses, company profiles):
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
Databases for finding articles about business topics (and beyond)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- Schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed.
Citing sources with no author: Scribbr
For sources with no named author, the in-text citation must match the first element of the Works Cited entry. This may be the name of an organization, or the title of the source.
If the source title or organization name is longer than four words, shorten it to the first word or phrase in the in-text citation, excluding any articles (a, an, and the). The shortened title or organization name should begin with the word the source is alphabetized by in the Works Cited.
Follow the general MLA rules for formatting titles: If the source is a self-contained work (e.g. a whole website or an entire book), put the title in italics; if the source is contained within a larger whole (e.g. a page on a website or a chapter of a book), put the title in quotation marks.
First Research Mergent: Citations
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network or click here to make a writing tutor appointment.
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
