Library Resources
Greetings from the library!
I'm Jenny, your librarian for this course.
If you'd like some one-on-one help with research, click here to book an appointment.
You can also email me: jcastel@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians?
It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Click on the blue button below to chat now!
chat loading...
Androgyne by
The first visually led exploration of androgyny--from representations in antiquity to its current prevalence in the fashion world and beyond In January 2011, Jean Paul Gaultier's haute couture runway show ended with the image of a willowy blonde bride in a diaphanous gown. The bride was a man, and one of the first models to walk for both men's and women's collections. The event marked the start of a trend. "This ad is gender neutral," proclaimed a 2016 poster for the fashion brand Diesel; "I resist definitions," announced a Calvin Klein ad in the same year, while a Louis Vuitton shoot featured Jaden Smith wearing a skirt. The art of Edward Burne-Jones and Gustave Moreau, the writings of Oscar Wilde, and the mystic Joséphin Péladan prove that the turn of the previous century was as compelled by androgyny as this one. From the late nineteenth to the early twenty-first century, the genders have blended: from Berlin in the 1920s to Hollywood of the 1930s with Garbo and Dietrich; from the 1940s Bright Young Things to the androgynous pop stars of the 1970s, and beyond. Patrick Mauries presents a cultural history of androgyny--accompanied by a striking selection of more than 120 images, from nineteenth-century painting to contemporary fashion photography--drawing on the worlds of art and literature to give us a deeper understanding of the strange but timeless human drive to escape from defined categories.
Call Number: Downcity; Oversized Collection; TT506 .M38 2017ISBN: 9780500519356Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Colors in Fashion by
Color speaks a powerful cultural language, conveying political, sexual, and economic messages that, throughout history, have revealed how we relate to ourselves and our world. This ground-breaking compilation is the first to investigate how color in fashionable and ceremonial dress has played a significant social role, indicating acceptance and exclusion, convention and subversion.From the use of white in pioneering feminism to the penchant for black in post-war France, and from mystical scarlet broadcloth to the horrors of arsenic-laden green fashion, this publication demonstrates that color in dress is as mutable, nuanced, and varied as color itself. Divided into four thematic parts - solidarity, power, innovation, and desire - each section highlights the often violent, emotional histories of color in dress across geographical, temporal and cultural boundaries. Underlying today's relaxed attitude to color lies a chromatic complexity that speaks of wars, migrations and economics. While acknowledging the importance that technology has played in the development of new dyes, the chapters explore color as a catalyst for technical innovation that continues to inspire designers, artists, and performers. Bringing together cutting-edge contributions from leading scholars, it is essential reading for academics of fashion, textiles, design, cultural studies and art history.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474273718Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Critical Fashion Practice by
There is a new form of design practice within the contemporary fashion industry which is active in complex forms of social commentary and critique. While fashion in the modernist era has shown signs of criticism and subversion, these were either in the form of subcultures or perversions, such as punk or BDSM styling. Today, however, these genres have been absorbed into the fashion industry itself, meaning that "critical fashion" is now far from limited to the subcultures from which it came. This book explores this new space for criticism within the popular fashion sphere to demonstrate how designers are disrupting conventions, challenging beliefs and stirring change from within the system itself.Critical Fashion Practice considers a range of contemporary designers across the globe, from the US to Japan, whose conceptual designs embody this critical language, including case studies such as Rei Kawakubo's deconstructive silhouettes for Comme des Garçons and Walter Van Beirendonck's sadomasochistic menswear collections, amongst other key players such as Miuccia Prada, Vivienne Westwood and Viktor & Rolf. Arguing that the rise of critical fashion coincides with a noticeable decline in the criticality of art, Geczy and Karaminas go beyond slotting fashion into previously established art theories. Conceiving a new cultural role for fashion that affords insight into identity, class, race, sexuality and gender, this book shows how fashion can not only reflect and comment on, but can also be a part of social change.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474265553Publication Date: 2017-02-09
Expedition: Fashion from the Extreme by
The first major study to explore the relationship between clothing made for survival in the most inhospitable environments on earth and beyond, and the high fashion it has inspired Today-- from haute couture to ready- to- wear-- parkas, puffer coats, and backpacks, as well as garments made of neoprene and Mylar are everywhere. But the roots of these ubiquitous items of dress and cutting- edge textiles are rarely acknowledged or understood. Inspired by the so-called "heroic era" of polar navigation (1890- 1922), extreme mountain climbing, deep sea exploration, and journeys to outer space, Expedition explores how garments made for the most inhospitable environments on earth and beyond have inspired more than sixty years of fantastical, otherworldly fashions. Lavishly illustrated, this publication features approximately 150 color photographs. The images include high fashion magazine editorials by Irving Penn, Richard Avedon, and others; museum objects from the permanent collections of The Museum at FIT and the American Museum of Natural History; and unpublished photographs of early expeditions in the archives of the Explorer's Club in New York.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780500519974Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Fashion and postcolonial critique by Call Number: Downcity, GT525 .F37 2019ISBN: 9783956794650Publication Date: 2019
Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion by
Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion showcases the global fashion industry's efforts to reduce the negative impacts associated with fashion production and consumption. Illustrated throughout with infographics, photographs and diagrams of creative works, eighteen essays focus on six regions, examining sustainable fashion in the context of local, cultural and environmental concerns. Also included are 18 regional 'Spotlight' sections highlighting the differences and similarities across regions by concentrating on examples of best practice, design innovation and impact on the community.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781350058132Publication Date: 2019-02-21
How to Slay: Inspiration from the Queens and Kings of Black Style by
One of the few surveys ever published of black style and fashion, How To Slay is for fans of the wildly successful, still-in-print Crowns (Doubleday, 2000) and Pharrell (Rizzoli, 2012). How To Slay provides a lavishly illustrated overview of style among African-Americans, throughout the 20th century but with the primary focus on the last 35 years. Through striking images of icons of black fashion and taste, this lush volume explores a diverse array of topics from hats, hair, the use of vibrant colour, and the beauty of black skin to the roots of black style in Africa and the Caribbean. Richly illustrated with gorgeous photography, both contemporary and historical, this visual survey of black fashion in America features some of the most celebrated and iconic individuals of style, exploring the cultural underpinnings of many trends and how they have become part of fashion vernacular today.
Call Number: Downcity, TT504.4 .W495 2018ISBN: 9780847861385Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Paris Fashion by
Paris has been the international capital of fashion for more than 300 years. Even before the rise of the haute couture, Parisians were notorious for their obsession with fashion, and foreigners eagerly followed their lead. From Charles Frederick Worth to Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel, Christian Dior, and Yves Saint Laurent, fashion history is dominated by the names of Parisian couturiers. But Valerie Steele's Paris Fashion is much more than just a history of great designers. This fascinating book demonstrates that the success of Paris ultimately rests on the strength of its fashion culture o created by a host of fashion performers and spectators, including actresses, dandies, milliners, artists, and writers. First published in 1988 to great international acclaim, this pioneering book has now been completely revised and brought up to date, encompassing the rise of fashion's multiple world cities in the 21st century. Lavishly illustrated, deeply learned, and elegantly written, Valerie Steele's masterwork explores with brilliance and flair why Paris remains the capital of fashion.
Call Number: Downcity, Oversized Collection; GT887 .S74 2017ISBN: 9781474245487Publication Date: 2017-09-21
Tweed by
The story of tweed is tied to a series of social, economic and cultural shifts that have molded its development. This book considers the historical factors that helped to shape the design characteristics and social meanings of the group of fabrics that we call tweed, from their emergence in the 1820s to the present day. Including significant new research on tweeds, from Harris Tweed to the type used by Chanel, this book follows the history of these fabrics from the raw fiber to the finished garment in men's and women's fashion.Exploring rural and urban contexts, this book reveals the important physical and conceptual relationships of tweed with landscape. Anderson shows that, contrary to their strong popular associations with tradition, tweeds emerged in the Romantic era as a response to the dramatic changes associated with industrialization and urbanization. Progressive changes in gender relations are also explored as a major factor in tweed's evolution, from associations with particular ideals of masculinity into what is now a truly adaptable fashion textile worn by both sexes. This is the first book of its kind to recognize the importance of tweed to fashion innovation today.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474263207Publication Date: 2016-12-15
To find design inspiration, trends, and planning the line
- WGSN This link opens in a new window
- Fashion and expert trend forecasting content
- Create a free account with your JWU email (required) and renew it every 90 days to access
- If your account is current, visit wgsn.com and log in with your JWU email address (as your username) & password
- Women's Wear Daily (WWD) This link opens in a new window
- Full subscription access to WWD, including archived content
- Limit 20 simultaneous users
- You first need to make an account with your JWU email address, after which you can login at wwd.com
To find your target market information such as consumer and market research, statistics, and demographic data
MRI+ University Reporter
- Use MRI+ for market studies containing consumer demographics (used to describe the readers, viewers, or listeners of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and Websites).
- Important: Use the link above to access the database. You will need to register for an account using your JWU Wildcats email address and this access code
- Please note: MRI+ can be downloaded as an excel spreadsheet.
- Watch the video below about how to navigate MRI+ and find relevant data (watch on full screen for a better view).
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
eBooks (large downloadbale PDFs) on
- Consumer Behavior
- Consumer Marketing
- Entertainment
- Media & Advertising
- Health Care
- Hotels & Resorts
- Leisure Market
- Restaurant & Food Service
- Retail Business
- Sports Marketing
- Travel & Tourism
Citing Images
Image label (If including image in your written work):
Fig. 1 New York Sunshine. (WGSN Denim Team, [Sept. 2018]).
In the text:
WGSN Denim Team [Sept. 2018].
In your list of figures or references (omit figure number if you haven't included the image in your assignment)
Figure 1. WGSN Denim Team. [Sept. 2018] New York Sunshine. WGSN. Denim Forecast S/S 20: Empower Up! [Online image]. available from https://www-wgsn-com.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/content/board_viewer/#/80499/page/1
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Academic Success Center at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academics tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
Looking for MS Office Suite or Microsoft Word? Click here to download it for free!
